List All Items

Advanced Search

John Frederick Herring Snr. 1795-1865
View Full-Size Image

John Frederick Herring Snr. 1795-1865

Price: Email Inquiry

Ask a question about this item

The start of the 1828 St Leger Stakes at Doncaster

Oil painting on canvas 23.5 x 48 inches / 76 x 122 cm., in a carved giltwood frame.

Provenance: …......Mrs E H Barrett, her sale, Christie's New York 5th June 1987 (199); Private Collection Monaco

The 1828 St Leger was won by the hon. E. Petre's The Colonel, depicted in the middle of the composition, the jockey William Scott in dark blue silks and cap, with pick sleeves. The other horses depicted are, from left to right, Lord Scarborough's Cambridge (4th); Mr Armitage's Velocipede (3rd); Colonel King's Bessy Bedlam (6th); Mr Bower's Lady Vane (7th) Major Yarborough's Belinda (2nd) and Lord Milton's Ballad Singer (5th). The colours worn by Lady Vane's jockey are incorrectly depicted as the Royal silks.

William Scott rode to nine St. Leger victories over his career with Jack Spigot (1821), Memnon (1825), The Colonel (1828), Rowton (1829), Don John (1838), Charles the Twelfth (1839), Launcelot (1840), Satirist (1841) and Sir Tatton Skyes (1846).

John Scott boasts one of the world's most impressive training records, producing sixteen St. Leger winners; Matilda (1827), The Colonel (1828), Rowton (1829), Margrave (1832), Touchstone (1834), Don John (1838), Charles the Twelfth (1839), Launcelot (1840), Satirist (1841), The Baron (1845), Newminster (1851), West Australian (1853), Warlock (1856), Imperieuse (1857), Gamester (1859) and The Marquis (1862).

First run on 24 September 1776 when the filly Allabaculia won, the St. Leger Stakes is the oldest and longest of five Classics in the British racing calendar. This race is also the third leg of the Fillies' Triple Crown, preceded by the 1,000 Guineas Stakes at Newmarket and The Oaks at Epsom. Run over a distance of 1 mile, 6 furlongs and 132 yards on the left-handed track Doncaster, the race is in held September each year. Only three-year-old thoroughbred colts and fillies qualify for this event .




Copyright © 2013. All Rights Reserved.